Skip to content

Belk Fall Fashion

July 28, 2010

Photo from Belk.

A few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to meet with Arlene Goldstein, the Vice President of Trend Merchandising and Fashion Direction at Belk department store. She gave me and three other fashion journalists (including Libby Callaway!) a slideshow of her fall fashion forecasts and her ten must have items for fall 2010. Her four must have looks were “authentic” (pieces with a vintage and worn in feel), “lavish”  (rich textures and lots of embellishments),  “over the top”  (very 80’s – mixing and matching crazy prints and colors) and “tres chic” (very classic and timeless with a modern twist).

Authentic is my personal favorite of all of the look, because it is all about rugged touches to give your clothes a unique vintage vibe.  Recreating this look is a lot of fun, because you get to play around with pieces that are classic and pieces that are tough. My favorite look from this was the picture above, which is all Kensie Girl.  

This look is so easy to emulate for me! I just got a gorgeous lace skirt from H&M for $5 that is a dead ringer for the Kensie girl skirt. I already own tall black boots and a leather jacket, and I think I might put on a white tee instead of a black one. 

I have one hot outfit for a cold fall day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

