Skip to content

Airport Superstore

September 5, 2010

Since my sophomore year of college, I have had a love affair with a little town in Alabama called Scottsboro. In this middle of nowhere town is the best place ever- Unclaimed Baggage store, but I call it the Airport Superstore. Inside this store that spans city blocks, I have tried on Alaia’s, Herve Leger bandage dresses, Peter Som dresses, Badgley Mischka leopard print sex in a dress, Moschino sweaters and all sorts of other goodies. 

I had the pleasure of going last Friday with a few besties. Sadly, this was not one of my better Airport Superstore experiences. I walked in to loud country music blaring. Apparently, it was their 40th anniversary sale. People were milling about everywhere and children were running around screaming and popping their balloon animals. The plus side – free DIP N DOTs. 

It was also picked over. I only got a cardigan and that book “Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs” by Chuck Klosterman, which was quite a disappointment. This is the place where I purchased brand new Tory Burch Reva flats for $80, a Twenty8bytwelve (Sienna Miller’s label) blue and orange plaid dress made from a beautiful and elegant silk, a white eyelet Trina Turk dress, and lots of novelty belts and bangles galore. 

I tried on some Louboutins though. They were only $120. I was swooning and about to get them, until I saw that they weren’t my size. But they were SO beautiful that it pained me to leave them there. 

The purse section has lots of gaudy fakes of Coach bags and Louis Vuitton, but they all say REPLICA in big letters on the tag, so no one is getting swindled. 

If your ever anywhere near Alabama, this is definitely worth checking out. Also, if you go on days when they get new shipments in, you can get Ipods and other electronics for ridiculously cheap. Then on the way back, stop at this little ice cream shack called the Dairy Freeze- it is fabulous. 

Random day trips like these make me so happy. Hopefully, I will be able to venture out there again within the next month and this time pick up some fabulous dresses or shoes.

Leave a Reply

