Skip to content

Sequin Syllogism

November 28, 2010

 

I really love sequins and wanted to do a sequin look ala Blake Lively and Jayma Mays for a few events I have coming up. (Except with a much smaller  and classier belt than Blake).

 I wrote a huge blog post the other day using a syllogism (a logical and rational argument against something) where I ended up convincing myself to get a dead sexy sequined skirt from F21. Too bad my computer/Wordpress deleted the ENTIRE DRAFT. 

The jist is that all the girls at my school dress like middle aged moms. They love Lilly P and Tory B and J Crew! Some of these girls even make fun of what I wear sometimes, or I garner quite a few looks walking around campus. 

The other day when I originally went to buy a sequin skirt and failed, it was because I thought I would get laughed at/strange looks if I wore a sequin skirt around the hopping metropolis of Sewanee. Then, I remembered how much I wanted stylish clogs and how many weird looks I got when I wore them around. (They’re also extremely difficult to walk in). I got in a really weird mood where I was upset about not being able to wear what I wanted.

IT DOESN’T MATTER! Who cares if people give you weird looks? As long as you like what you’re wearing, then GO FOR IT. So I bought the skirt and I will wear it to either SALC or my sorority’s Christmas cocktail. And maybe I will get the cute boy in my econ class to finally notice me, aside from me mocking his Bare Feet shoes one night. 

Do you ever feel self-conscious about what you wear? How do you deal with these wardrobe issues?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 11:53 AM

    Love your thinking! (and I love those looks, I just need a sequin skirt to get them started!)

  2. December 19, 2010 2:39 AM

    Definitely feel self-conscious of some of the outfits I pull together but I agree with you Lexi, doesn’t matter what others think as long as you’re confident and comfortable with what you’re wearing. After all, the only thing that matters is what you think of yourself 🙂 Good luck with your finals!

Leave a Reply

