Skip to content

Rainboot Review

February 9, 2011

                                                                  The Loeffler Randall Matilde rainboots – $195. 

I’ve loved Loeffler Randall since they did a shoe/handbag collection with Target wayyy back in 2008. I bought two pairs of flats and a clutch! After my rainboots from Urban Outfitters slightly ripped (seen here), I recalled seeing them at TJ Maxx for $30. However, the Capelli boots were out of stock, but I spied a lovely pair of Loeffler Randall rainboots in a size 7 for only $50, and of course snagged them immediately.

I am so glad that I didn’t pay the full $195. At first I was thrilled with them. The mini wedge made me taller, and the boots made my legs look skinnier. However, just from walking in them, I felt they were going to rip the way the rubber moved when I walked. Foreshadowing came true! Not even 3 months after I bought them, they ripped (and right where I thought they were going to rip as well!!)

Also, they ARE NOT snow boots. The Matilde has no traction on the soles, and I was constantly slipping and sliding around on the snow. I tried so hard to tread delicately and avoid possible embarrassing moments, however my efforts were thwarted.

I debated caving in and purchasing the ubiquitous Hunter Wellingtons in a fun color, but after talking to my mother, had a genius plan. Moms always know best. I purchased black electrical tape and laid it horizontally covering the rips. I did this for both of my ripped rainboots, and now I have two pairs of boots, the Urban Outfitters are for snow and the Loeffler Randall ones will be for rain.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 7:44 AM

    Nice review!
    Cute boots!

    xoxox,
    CC

  2. February 10, 2011 6:31 PM

    I feel like all my friends’ rain boots have ripped, no matter what the brand. I used to use rubber equestrian boots. The rubber was so thick it never ripped, but they were so tight I could only wear them with skirts or skinny jeans.

  3. February 24, 2011 3:47 PM

    I bought my Loeffler Randall Rainboots from eBay, and they also ripped even though I only wore them <5 times! I was debating going to the shoe repair shop or buying black caulking, but I'll try the black electrical tape for a quick fix. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

