Skip to content

Death of a Disco Dancer

May 24, 2011

Hat:  CVS, Top:  F21, Belt: Vintage Grandma’s, Skirt:  NY & Company, Flats:  Loeffler Randall, Bracelets: Jessica Simpson, thrifted & gifted & random

(awkward MySpace pic)

(Gorgeous vintage belt given to me by Barbs, my grandmother)

(Gypsy Bangles)

This is my 70’s  inspired outfit, complete with broken floppy hat purchased from CVS. The title is a Smiths’ song, and its also the title of a Degrassi episode. (I love Canadian TV! That accent with the O’s. Can’t wait to live so close to Canada this summer!)

Maxi skirts have been intimidating to me for a long time. They have the possibility to make you look tall and willowy or like a short and squat midget. This weekend, I finally took the plunge and purchased one. I love it! I can’t stop wearing it around. Nana Barbara, my grandmother said I actually looked really pretty, and tall and thin, so I guess maxi skirts are a decent look for me. I anticipate wearing this skirt around Missoula all summer.

While at the park photographing this with my brother and my friend Allie, we got a lot of strange looks from frisbee golfers. I think its because I was wearing a hat after 5 PM. As we were leaving to take these photos around 5, Nana Barbara said a lady never wears a hat after 5, unless its a cocktail hat. (I’ll assume she means a fascinator?) Life lesson learned.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 9:13 PM

    I now learned something new about hat etiquette! I’m really glad I read this when I did.

  2. May 30, 2011 10:57 PM

    I love maxi skirts too and you look lovely in yours! And loving your floppy hat!!
    I totally understand how you feel about the weird stares, especially when my friend takes close ups of what I’m wearing, by-passers always have a confused look.

    Canada, eh? 🙂

  3. July 8, 2011 6:36 PM

    I love this look! It’s a little gypsy, a little city-girl, and totally fabulous. The hat, the bangles, and the belt are all great touches- kind of jealous of your accessories, actually.

Leave a Reply

