Skip to content

Closure

June 20, 2012

Last year there was a boy named Mark, and I could have fallen in love with him if not for his crazy on and off girlfriend situation. We had so much in common it was uncanny; unfortunately I became cold and aloof, which is what I do if I actually like someone. He is a serial dater and I am a commitment phobe. We fell out of touch after college, and even though we live relatively close, I’ve never seen him anywhere. All contact sadly ceased after college.

Recently I found his online dating profile, and we are an 86% match. It confirmed what I had known all along – that we were perfect for each other. Despite this newfound knowledge, I can’t bring myself to contact him. In a few months he will be leaving to start grad school, and once again I’ll be left heartbroken, regardless of what happens.

A few nights ago I had a dream that he changed his dating profile to tell all girls to leave him alone because he was too hurt by his old girlfriend and needed to be single for a while. I took it as a sign that I was doing the right thing by closing the book that’s been open a year too long.

I think this is closure?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

