Skip to content

The Bitter Truth

June 26, 2012

The most radical thing my mother ever did was paint her living room red. In her youth, she self described herself as boring. She went out to parties with her brother and smoked the occasional joint, but rarely did anything wilder than that. Instead of going away to college, she chose to attend the local college twenty minutes away. Her parents offered to rent an apartment for her; she chose to live at home until she was married at 23. An opportunity came about for her to move to Portland, Oregon in the early 90’s. She chose to stay in Middle Tennessee, where she had lived since she was ten years old. She told me once that it wasn’t that she was afraid, she was merely content with her mediocre life. I pitied her for settling for a life that was so beneath her.

I vowed that I would never be boring like her. I vowed to be interesting and to travel and to have new experiences, which I did. Now, I feel like I am becoming dull, but it’s not because I’m content with my life. It’s because I’m afraid.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 26, 2012 12:17 AM

    Don’t be afraid! Live out of my Jeep with Taylor and I for a week on the beach. It’ll be the best time of your life, I promise. 🙂

Leave a Reply

